Press Release of 03/03/2014

“EUROPA’s Best” celebrates its 10th anniversary: Festival of food and drink with 10 star-crowned chefs

  • Gourmet festival on board in Antwerp on 22 June 2014
  • Special jubilee celebration with 10 award-winning chefs and jubilee guest Eckart Witzigmann
  • High point of the Gourmet Cruise from Lisbon to Hamburg

This year the popular, annual gourmet festival "EUROPA's Best" celebrates a truly special anniversary. For ten years now, numerous Michelin-starred chefs and other high flyers in the world of fine dining, including winegrowers, chocolatiers, patissiers and fromagers, have gathered together once a year on board the EUROPA to transform the Lido Deck into a gourmet mile. To mark this round-number anniversary in 2014, appropriately EUROPA's chef de cuisine, Thorsten Gillert, is to welcome on board 10 star-crowned chefs.

(Click image to enlarge and download. Further pictures can be found in the photo archive.)

The award-winning top chefs represent Germany, Austria, Switzerland and, of course, Belgium. After all, this year as always, the EUROPA is to moor in Antwerp for the special evening event devoted entirely to the delights of haute cuisine par excellence.

Also on board as the special jubilee guest is Eckart Witzigmann, crowned “Chef of the Century” by Gault Millau. Passengers are also to enjoy the pleasure of sampling one of his creations – a “signature dish” from his repertoire will be presented on the menu in the EUROPA Restaurant on the evening of the event.

Guest Chefs:
Dieter Müller, Restaurant Dieter Müller, MS EUROPA
Thomas Bühner, La Vie, 3 Michelin stars, 4 Gault-Millau toques, Germany
Stefan Steinheuer, Steinheuers Restaurant „Zur Alten Post“, 2 Michelin stars, 4 Gault-Millau toques, Germany
Karlheinz Hauser, Restaurant Seven Seas, 2 Michelin stars, 3 Gault-Millau toques, Germany
Johannes King, Sölringhof Sylt, 2 Michelin stars, 3 Gault-Millau toques, Germany
Nils Henkel, Schloss Lerbach, 2 Michelin stars, 4 Gault-Millau toques, Germany
Tanja Grandits, Restaurant Stucki, 2 Michelin stars, 3 Gault-Millau toques, Switzerland
Holger Bodendorf, Landhaus Stricker, 1 Michelin stars, 3 Gault-Millau toques, Germany
Silvio Nickol, Palais Coburg, 2 Michelin stars, 3 Gault-Millau toques, Austria
Filip Claeys, Restaurant De Jonkman, 2 Michelin stars, 3 Gault-Millau toques, Belgium

Weingut Schneider
Schlossgut Diel
Weingut Dönnhoff
Weingut Schwarzer Adler
Weingut Dreissigacker
Maison Louis Latour
Château Malartic-Lagravière
Weingut Luciano Sandrone
Weingut Franz Hirtzberger
Weingut Huerta de Albalá

Additional participants:
Barkeeper Charles Schumann
Otto Gourmet
BOS Food
Giovanni L.
L`Olio Secondo Veronelli
Fromagier Antony
Caviar House & Prunier
Birgitta Rust Piekfeine Brände
Becking Kaffee
Die Patisserie

The Gourmet Cruise details: EUROPA departs on 10 June 2014 sailing for 14 days from Lisbon/Portugal, via Bilbao, St Jean de Luz, Bordeaux, Le Palais, St. Helier, St. Peter Port, Greenwich (London), and Antwerp to Hamburg, from 5,680 Euros per person, cruise-only (USD6,820, GBP4,440). The EUROPA’s Best gourmet festival will take place in Antwerp on 22 June.

Hamburg, March 2014

For bookings, inquiries, or to request a brochure, please click here. -

Copyright: The royalty-free images provided on this site are intended for editorial use only, in conjunction with the relevant Hapag-Lloyd Cruises press releases. The pictures provided may not be altered, filed or forwarded to Third Parties. They may only be used as a whole. Please include photo credit: Hapag-Lloyd Cruises. We ask you not to abbreviate the company name. Please use clear captions where appropriate.